Month: August 2018

Goal Review August 2018

Posted August 31, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Goals / 0 Comments

Tags:

Last Month's Goal

I Want to Read:

  • The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley
  • A Slip of the Keyboard by Terry Pratchett
  • The Art of Language Invention by David J. Peterson

I Want to Write:

  • 5,000 words of fiction

Er… Well… I… managed… one of the above? I don’t know, my August is a blur worse than most months. I’m still operating under the belief that it’s the first week of August even though I know, intellectually, that it isn’t.

Consequently, I have… nothing to say? I’m slowly inching my way through A Slip of the Keyboard, but I just genuinely do not know what’s up with this month to the point where I’m glad I got anything done on any of these, never mind ticked one off and got partway through another!

I think it’s just that August’s been a particularly bad month for my brain somehow? I know I slept more than normal the past few days, but that’s as far as my memory of August stretches. Well, there’s random stuff I know happened in August that might as well have happened in any month not-August, but that’s it.

I am very confused and this is minorly terrifying, so I’m going to hush now and set up the other monthly posts. Meep.

Divider

This Week on Patreon (Week 35)

Posted August 24, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Miscellaneous / 0 Comments

Tags:

My Patreon tends to be a fairly quiet place, but I wanted to share the posts that go up every week. In this case, I’m counting weeks from Saturday to Friday so anyone who wants to explore things during the weekend can do so.

While most of my posts are locked to patrons, a lot of them will release to the public and get cross-posted to this website after a month as well. Those’ll be indicated with a little asterisk (*) behind them. It may not always be exactly a month because, for the sake of my poor brain, I’m counting a month as “that same number in the next month, except the 31st gets moved to the 30th”. Sometimes posts may also be posted simultaneously for everyone to read and sometimes posts may go up earlier because reasons that will be explained in that post.

I strive to find a balance between offering up a good amount of content to everyone for free, which Patrons get to experience a month before everyone else, and interesting extra content exclusive to Patrons. I hope you’ll find something interesting among the posts this week! Enjoy!

All-Patron Posts

5+ Patron Posts

Divider

This Week on Patreon (Week 34)

Posted August 17, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Miscellaneous / 0 Comments

Tags:

My Patreon tends to be a fairly quiet place, but I wanted to share the posts that go up every week. In this case, I’m counting weeks from Saturday to Friday so anyone who wants to explore things during the weekend can do so.

While most of my posts are locked to patrons, a lot of them will release to the public and get cross-posted to this website after a month as well. Those’ll be indicated with a little asterisk (*) behind them. It may not always be exactly a month because, for the sake of my poor brain, I’m counting a month as “that same number in the next month, except the 31st gets moved to the 30th”. Sometimes posts may also be posted simultaneously for everyone to read and sometimes posts may go up earlier because reasons that will be explained in that post.

I strive to find a balance between offering up a good amount of content to everyone for free, which Patrons get to experience a month before everyone else, and interesting extra content exclusive to Patrons. I hope you’ll find something interesting among the posts this week! Enjoy!

Public Posts

All-Patron Posts

Divider

Guest Interview: Ceillie Simkiss on Learning Curves

Posted August 11, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Books, Other People's Creations / 0 Comments

Tags:

Today I’m interviewing Ceillie Simkiss about her debut novella, Learning Curves, a sweet sapphic contemporary romance that comes out August 16th, 2018. Learning Curves is a delightful and diverse novella. I reviewed it earlier this week too, if you’d like my thoughts on it.

Disclaimer: I read an early draft of this novella and Ceillie is a friend. I’m super-excited for everyone to meet Cora and Elena. They’re just so lovely together and we need so much more f/f romance out there. <3

Without further ado, let me give you the book’s description and we’ll hop straight to the interview!

Read More

Divider

This Week on Patreon (Week 33)

Posted August 10, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Miscellaneous / 0 Comments

Tags:

My Patreon tends to be a fairly quiet place, but I wanted to share the posts that go up every week. In this case, I’m counting weeks from Saturday to Friday so anyone who wants to explore things during the weekend can do so.

While most of my posts are locked to patrons, a lot of them will release to the public and get cross-posted to this website after a month as well. Those’ll be indicated with a little asterisk (*) behind them. It may not always be exactly a month because, for the sake of my poor brain, I’m counting a month as “that same number in the next month, except the 31st gets moved to the 30th”. Sometimes posts may also be posted simultaneously for everyone to read and sometimes posts may go up earlier because reasons that will be explained in that post.

I strive to find a balance between offering up a good amount of content to everyone for free, which Patrons get to experience a month before everyone else, and interesting extra content exclusive to Patrons. I hope you’ll find something interesting among the posts this week! Enjoy!

Public Posts

All-Patron Posts

5+ Patron Posts

Divider

Book Talk: Learning Curves

Posted August 6, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Books, Other People's Creations / 0 Comments

Tags:

Book Talk: Learning CurvesLearning Curves by Ceillie Simkiss
Pages: 91

Elena Mendez has always been career-first; with only two semesters of law school to go, her dream of working as a family lawyer for children is finally within reach. She can't afford distractions. She doesn't have time for love. 

And she has no idea how much her life will change, the day she lends her notes to Cora McLaughlin. 

A freelance writer and MBA student, Cora is just as career-driven as Elena. But over weeks in the library together, they discover that as strong as they are apart, they're stronger together. Through snowstorms and stolen moments, through loneliness and companionship, the two learn they can weather anything as long as they have each other--even a surprise visit from Elena's family. 

From solitude to sweetness, there's nothing like falling in love. College may be strict...but when it comes to love, Cora and Elena are ahead of the learning curve.

Doesn’t that description sound adorable? This is a super-sweet contemporary f/f novella in the vein of Shira Glassman’s Knit One, Girl Two, so if you liked that definitely check this upcoming novella out!

I just have no words for how adorable Elena and Cora are together. They’re just perfect and I wish this had been longer so we’d had more of a chance to spend time getting to know them and watching them learn about each other.

One of my favourite things about the book is probably Elena’s family and how close they are. I have a large extended family too and it was really nice to see the dynamics between everyone, even if only briefly.

I love the way that Elena and Cora prioritise good communication skills, explicitly putting off conversations they know they’re in no headspace to have at that time. They work together really well and it’s just such a wholesome story.

It’s very low-conflict, so don’t go into this expecting high drama, but for me at least that’s part of why I enjoyed it so much. It’s just about seeing two people living their lives and working out how to make a life together work out.

Definitely recommended if you’re looking for a good, fluffy read! Christmas features heavily, but I can absolutely see it as a comfy summer read too. It’s just that happy-making and filled with sunshine. <3

Become a Patron on Patreon!

This post previously appeared on Patreon and is sponsored by generous patrons. Thank you so much for your support! It means the world to me! <3 I love you all!

If you’ve enjoyed this post and would like to support me in creating more free content, please consider subscribing or spreading the word to others. Visit my Patreon page to discover how to get early access to posts as well as various Patron-exclusive posts and goodies!

Divider

This Week on Patreon (Week 32)

Posted August 3, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Miscellaneous / 0 Comments

Tags:

My Patreon tends to be a fairly quiet place, but I wanted to share the posts that go up every week. In this case, I’m counting weeks from Saturday to Friday so anyone who wants to explore things during the weekend can do so.

I hope you’ll find something interesting among the posts this week! Enjoy!

Public Posts

All-Patron Posts

5+ Patron Posts

Divider

August 2018 Goals

Posted August 2, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Goals / 0 Comments

Tags:

This Month's Goals
I Want to Read:

  • The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley
  • A Slip of the Keyboard by Terry Pratchett
  • The Art of Language Invention by David J. Peterson

I Want to Write:

  • 5,000 words of fiction

It worked pretty well for July, so let’s stick with the general principle for August! The books are just going to carry over until I read them, so no changes there, but writing-wise I actually have options now that Thrushbeard has stopped hogging my brain.

I… don’t have particularly much to say about August itself, though. It exists?

Divider

July 2018 Round-up

Posted August 1, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Miscellaneous / 0 Comments

Tags:

Goals

News

No posts found.

Patreon

Posts marked with an * are publicly available at this time.

Culture Consumption

Misc Posts

Divider