Book Talk: Learning Curves

Posted August 6, 2018 by Lynn E. O'Connacht in Books, Other People's Creations / 0 Comments

Tags:

Book Talk: Learning CurvesLearning Curves by Ceillie Simkiss
Pages: 91

Elena Mendez has always been career-first; with only two semesters of law school to go, her dream of working as a family lawyer for children is finally within reach. She can't afford distractions. She doesn't have time for love. 

And she has no idea how much her life will change, the day she lends her notes to Cora McLaughlin. 

A freelance writer and MBA student, Cora is just as career-driven as Elena. But over weeks in the library together, they discover that as strong as they are apart, they're stronger together. Through snowstorms and stolen moments, through loneliness and companionship, the two learn they can weather anything as long as they have each other--even a surprise visit from Elena's family. 

From solitude to sweetness, there's nothing like falling in love. College may be strict...but when it comes to love, Cora and Elena are ahead of the learning curve.

Doesn’t that description sound adorable? This is a super-sweet contemporary f/f novella in the vein of Shira Glassman’s Knit One, Girl Two, so if you liked that definitely check this upcoming novella out!

I just have no words for how adorable Elena and Cora are together. They’re just perfect and I wish this had been longer so we’d had more of a chance to spend time getting to know them and watching them learn about each other.

One of my favourite things about the book is probably Elena’s family and how close they are. I have a large extended family too and it was really nice to see the dynamics between everyone, even if only briefly.

I love the way that Elena and Cora prioritise good communication skills, explicitly putting off conversations they know they’re in no headspace to have at that time. They work together really well and it’s just such a wholesome story.

It’s very low-conflict, so don’t go into this expecting high drama, but for me at least that’s part of why I enjoyed it so much. It’s just about seeing two people living their lives and working out how to make a life together work out.

Definitely recommended if you’re looking for a good, fluffy read! Christmas features heavily, but I can absolutely see it as a comfy summer read too. It’s just that happy-making and filled with sunshine. <3

Become a Patron on Patreon!

This post previously appeared on Patreon and is sponsored by generous patrons. Thank you so much for your support! It means the world to me! <3 I love you all!

If you’ve enjoyed this post and would like to support me in creating more free content, please consider subscribing or spreading the word to others. Visit my Patreon page to discover how to get early access to posts as well as various Patron-exclusive posts and goodies!

Divider